REVIEWS


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced adventure that must be read

By K. Smith on November 13, 2015 Verified Purchase

I just can’t get enough of Jerry Gill’s Vic book series. With Vic: Terror Incognita, I was treated a fourth time to the wild travels of Vic(toria) Custer and Lin Li. With every paragraph, you will wish you lived in the 1920s like they do. But we just have to settle for reading about the exploits of the female answer to Indiana Jones—happily settle.


If you aren’t familiar with the outrageous love story of Vic’s 100,000-year-old former self Nat-ul and cave dweller Nu, you need not worry. Each book in The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger is filled with backstory on the two lovers. This fourth installment finds Vic and her longtime friend Lin trekking across the Amazon Rainforest in Brazil. After a deadly fight with a 20-foot, 300 lb. anaconda, they take Instagram-worthy pictures of it before roasting the snake with mushrooms for dinner. Can you say ‘girl power’?


Their friendship is tested as Vic continues to wonder about Stu James--who may be the reincarnation of Nu. But they continue to push forward while more antics ensue. Along with a host of various creatures and characters, we learn about the endurance of these heroines. “Lin and I are adventure writers. We need to do things on our own and a little more dangerous than we would ever suggest for our readers. It keeps them reading. It’s our living.” That’s what these heroines encounter for the art of writing. That’s the thrill that Jerry Gill gives his readers with this latest book.

====================

5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Installment.

By Jen on September 27, 2015

Like the other books in this series, this part 4 was very entertaining and action packed. I feel like each book just keeps getting better!

==========================


5.0 out of 5 stars Another eclectic adventure with Vic Challenger!

By Rae Phillips on May 18, 2015 on Amazon

This is the fourth book in the series and is an excellent edition to a collection of books that are always fast paced and fun. The book cover perfectly encapsulates the writing style of the author and if you are looking for a read that is a little bit different then this is for you. It is an eclectic mix of characters and situations with an exciting narrative style and is an absolute must for comic books fans.


Each of the books in this series stand alone and can be enjoyed without have read any of the other stories. I love the fact that there is a love story that weaves its way through all of the Vic Challenger series; it is a thread that holds all of the books together and adds depth to Vic’s character. Vic is not just a woman, she was a primeval warrior that is seeking to be reunited with her eternal love and this gives her an almost infallible presence through each book.The author is an accomplished storyteller; Terror Incognito like all the books in the series is written well and has excellent attention to detail and stunning visual descriptions.


Reading through these adventures takes me back to reading Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys as a child; I could not wait to get to the library when I finished each one so that I could take out the next story. I would become totally absorbed in those adventures and it is one of my earliest memories of loving reading and books. Then I read that Nancy Drew was an influence on Jerry Gill’s writing styles and right there is my connection! We all need a bit of escapism and a heroine like Vic Challenger in our lives from time to time!


I would love to see a Vic Challenger Anime series; I think it would be astounding. To try and place this series in a genre is difficult it crosses so many from fantasy, suspense, historical fiction and comic books. One thing is for sure the Vic Challenger collection is 100% originality!

============================


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, just keeps getting better

By Kitty Smith TOP 500 REVIEWER on May 3, 2015

Another fast paced adventure in the Vic series! Vic and Lin Li's adventures are wildly entertaining and there's plenty of surprises along the way. What starts out as a fun, danger-free trip quickly turns into something they never imagined. Vic is a great character, strong and smart and able to take on the world. There's some unexpected drama here that affects the relationship between Vic and Lin Li, adding a bit of suspense to the story.


I really love how the skillful writing makes the story come alive The landscape, the animals and other characters, even the bugs spring to life as you read along. Such a creative story, and it's great how the book is part of a series but perfectly capable of standing on its own. Fantastic series and I hope there are many more books to come!

=================

4.0 out of 5 starsFun read!

By Ella M.on March 30, 2015

This was a fun read! I really liked the characters, as well as the attention to detail in describing the scenery. Jerry Gill is a very talented author, and I recommend this, and the other books in the series!

===========================

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read April 5, 2015  By Jade Das on Amazon

Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed reading the 4th book in the Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger Series. I think the cover is a great depiction of what happens in the story—it’s just an eclectic blend of crazy situations that almost seem to attract to Vic like a magnet. Absolutely nothing about the plot line(s) is predictable, which is exactly the kind of book I enjoy.

I really love Vic as a character, she’s a tough cookie that lives life by her own moral code. As a character, Jerry Gill has done a great job of developing her into someone who is likable and relatable (she even comes with her own motto). She always finds a unique way to tackle whatever gets thrown at her, which keeps the reader on their toes.

If you haven’t read the other books in the series, I suggest you do, but Gill also provides a helpful prologue in this one to help the reader figure out where Vic came from (the deep, deep past) and why she does what she does, so it is possible to jump right in from here and not feel lost at all.

For this book in particular, I really enjoyed the friendship dynamic between Lin and Vic. The tension between them that arose from a sticky situation was a major plot point of the story that definitely drew my attention and added an interesting kink to the story.

As promised, something (if not a lot of things) interesting happens in every single chapter, giving you the most bang for your buck in doses of adventure. Every time I finish one of the Vic Challenger books, I always feel like it was time well spent and a very unique read. I mean really, how many caveman reincarnates turned journalists in the 1920s can you read about on Kindle? I think Vic’s the only one.



5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition to the Series March 16, 2015

By Beth   Verified Purchase

I just love the Vic series and I was thrilled to discover this latest release!

Vic is just such a strong, positive character that I enjoy reading about all her adventures and I really like Lin Li and getting to see her perspective on things. It was a bit surprising to learn of Lin Li’s possible betrayal and see how the aftermath of that played out in their relationship.

I really like how the author creates such a tactile experience for the reader with the excellent writing. I could actually feel the heat and humidity and the bugs as I flipped the pages as fast as I could read them with my heart beating nearly out of my chest. It makes the entire reading experience incredibly powerful.

I highly, highly recommend this and am eagerly awaiting the next installment in the series.



Reading is a Way of Life blog, Ella Marie - March 2, 2015 My Review:
To be fair, I need to start out by saying I came into this series on Book 4, so needless to say, I was a little lost. Victoria Custer (known as just Vic to most), Lin, and Emma seem to be the best of friends. So the book starts out with the three of them planning their shared birthday party and a girls trip. The only problem is one of them, Emma, seems hesitant. The other girls can't figure out why she wouldn't jump at the chance, given that she usually loves an excuse to hang out. They eventually find out, and once they do, Vic takes care of it.

Vic is the strong character, the one that seems to not have any fear and stands up for what is right. While the other characters were great in their own way, I liked her most of all. There's just something about a woman who knows what she wants and isn't afraid to get her hands dirty.

Once the situation back home was settled, Lin and Vic were off to the Amazon! They were paid to take the trip from Vic's editor. He wanted them to hike the trails and spend a couple of weeks getting stories to write for the newspaper. Along the way though, there are definitely obstacles that involve dinosaurs (yes, you read that right!), big ugly snakes (which I HATE!), and a lot of adventure!

One very interesting thing about this book, well, I guess about this series, is that Vic is actually from another time. She comes back as different people, all the while trying to find her true love, Nu. They were separated by Mother Nature over 100,000 years ago, so while on her adventure, she is looking for him. He even comes to her in dreams. So that was pretty interesting for me.

One thing I will say about Jerry Gill, he did an amazing job portraying the scenery, and the reader will for sure feel like they are witnessing everything that's going on.

Overall, I liked this book, but I'm sure didn't get into it as much as I probably would have if I would have started at the beginning. Having said that though, I do recommend it! But I recommend starting with Book 1 :)


5 stars on Amazon  Just as good as the rest of the books in the series!!! March 10, 2015

By arky here

Verified Purchase

I have read all of the books in the Vic series and they continue to keep grabbing my attention. This series has been one of the best series that I have read in a very long time and I have found it to be very enjoyable. Vic and Lin Li are headed off on their next adventure and are ready for some fun. I'm always happy to read about Vic's and Lin Li's newest adventure. Each book is exciting and I can't wait to see where it will end up.

Vic and Lin Li feel like there will be no danger this time on their adventure, but they have no idea how wrong they are. They were looking for an adventure that would be fun, which they get, but there are a few surprises along the way that give them a run for their money. There's apes, dinosaurs, snakes and headhunters just to name a few of the obstacles that they go through. Another unique twist in this book is the possible betrayal between Vic and Lin Li. Lin Li may be possibly hiding something from Vic. I don't want to give too much away, but it's definitely an interesting aspect of the plot.

I think my favorite thing about this novel was the scenery and the settings. The author does an amazing job of describing the settings that the characters are in. I loved the views of nature and how exotic everything felt. Vic is such a tough character and I think that she represents women well. This is truly a book of the ages and I hope that the series will continue!



Jenny's review  on Goodreads

Mar 05, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in March, 2015

If you have ever read pulp fiction (and i dont mean the movie) you will recognize and love work such as this. Vic is an adventure travel writer who ends up on a trip to top all trips. Tons of surprises, twists, and turns with lots of action and adventure mixed in.