Book review from
http://www.agoddessofliterature.com/2013/09/vic-time-doesnt-matter-book-review.html

While Edgar Rice Burroughs is best known for his creation of Tarzan, he also created a character named Victoria Custer which was featured in two short stories. These stories inspired author Jerry Gill to create additional chapters to tie the original stories together, which resulted in this novel.

Vic isn't your average lady in the 1920s. She enjoys hunting, shopping, and has an adventurous soul. She has a tendency to miss the jungle when she has been away from it too long and can take care of herself in the wilds, yet somehow doesn't manage to lose her femininity. This book has a touch of fantasy and paranormal basis as Vic learns that she is quite possibly reincarnated. In her previous life she was a prehistoric woman who was torn from the great love of her life. Vic believes that it is now up to her to find this man. If she has been reincarnated, logic follows that he has been as well. Though the romance spans across thousands of years, Time Doesn't Matter where true love is concerned.

An endearing tale of romance that is speckled with some incredibly action packed adventures by both Vic and her alter ego during her previous life. This is a very interesting and entertaining plot with several twists and unusual circumstances, but Vic takes it all in stride as it is just another day in her extraordinary life.

I give it 5 stars!


5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Journey, October 22, 2013

By an Amazon top reviewer

Beth (United States) - See all my reviews

This review is from: vic: Time Doesn't Matter (Paperback) When I initially read the book's description I was immediately intrigued and eagerly awaited my copy's arrival. My hopes for the book were surpassed and the book turned out to be an incredible journey.

I enjoyed the Nu character, but I was especially drawn to the fun loving Vic. She's no shrinking violet and can hold her own with the boys in her circle. Her vim and vigor add a level to the story that one might not expect. The combination of Vic's travels and her adventurous attitude make her feel almost like a female Indiana Jones.

My favorite quote from the book perfectly describes the book and comes from Vic's brother, Barney, who says "No one I know can boast of a vacation where they fought slavers, visited ancient ruins, and witnessed their sister slay a leopard."

This thought provoking story isn't just an adventure story, or a romance, or historical fiction but a magical blend of all three. I genuinely enjoyed every moment I spent with Nu and Vic and highly recommend this excellent book.


5.0 out of 5 stars A pure jewel! May 17, 2014

By Sandra Hould

Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed reading the first book of this saga. Vic is a character that is one of the best adventuresses I have seen in a while. She is a dream, one I would love to get to know more and add her to my own projects. ERB created a great character and Jerry Gill has given her a more complete and exciting life. I really and truly recommend this book to any fan of this character.

=============

Phillip's review Goodreads  here

Dec 31, 14

5 of 5 stars bookshelves: favorites, popular-culture, positive-psychology

Read on December 23, 2014

Author Jerry Gill delivers with his novel Vic: Time Doesn't Matter. Actually, I am reading the Double Trouble edition but am so happy with #1 that I am going ahead and writing a review.

Vic: Time Doesn't Matter would sit comfortably on the shelf with Eternal Savage and the Red Sonja comic books. It would also sit on the shelf with just about anything else written by Edgar Rice Burroughs, especially--(the title mentioned above), The Cave Girl, and Tarzan and the Castaways-all books with strong action heroines in jungle adventures.

The book begins 100,000 years ago and shows the cave-man Nu son of Nu on the hunt of the big cat. The language of the narrative provides a good homage to the language of the prehistoric scenes found throughout the work of Edgar Rice Burroughs. In fact, the novel picks up where
Eternal Savage leaves off (A book requiring a part-two that Burroughs never wrote.)

Then, in
Vic: Time Doesn't Matter Vic, the heroine is introduced on the estate of Tarzan, Lord Greystoke during the nineteen-twenties. The Greystoke estate is only the backdrop where the heroine is introduced. The novel that follows is a series of E.R.B-eseque adventures that definitely belong to Vic Challenger, not Tarzan. She is an engaging character, able to take care of herself as she travels the world in pursuit of her own objective that is tied to the prehistoric past.

This professional quality book is exciting, provides juvenile women readers with a positive role model, and is more of a reboot of the books of Edgar Rice Burroughs, for the current teen generation, than just an homage. Yet, it is an homage that a life-long Burroughs enthusiast (me) would recommend to other aficionados of any age. I will be reading #2 and #3.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Adventure!, February 14, 2015  By Fox - See all my reviews

This review is from: VIC: Time Doesn't Matter (Kindle Edition)

This book is unlike anything I’ve read before for a number of reasons. For one, half the book is based entirely on content written by Edgar Rice Burroughs in 1914 and 1917 as The Eternal Savage and The Eternal Lover. In these two tales Burroughs writes briefly about Victoria Custer, but then never uses her again in his prolific writing career – something that author Jerry Gill thought was a waste! Gill opted to re-write portions of Burroughs’ work and then has the reader accompany Vic to Nebraska and then on to Mexico!

As the book descriptions promise, the book is a thrill a minute and is difficult to pull away from. It has been a while since I have read a book which is actually more action and adventure than any other genre. I’m grateful that there is another book coming out in the next week or so because I’m not done with reading about Victoria Custer, yet! This is one of the few times of late when I have been reluctant to let a book go because I have enjoyed it so much.

I loved Indiana Jones films when I was younger, but found that the Indiana Jones book adaptations and Young Indiana Jones titles left me feeling very unfulfilled. They didn’t strike up the same sense of wonder and inspire the same adrenaline as the movies did – Time Doesn’t Matter has somehow managed to bridge that gap by being just as enjoyable in print as those classic action films were years ago.


5.0 out of 5 stars Victoria Custer rides again, thank goodness., February 19, 2015 By

Pilot Robert (Albuquerque, NM, US) - See all my reviews

This review is from: VIC: Time Doesn't Matter (Kindle Edition)

Time Doesn't Matter is the first is a series of novels by Jerry Gill that will explore the ongoing adventures of Victoria Custer (Nat-Ul). Victoria is the heroine of "The Eternal Lover" by Edgar Rice Burroughs and the sister of Barney Custer, the protagonist of Burroughs' "The Mad King".
"The Eternal Lover".
Section three is by Jerry Gill and begins where the ERB novel ends. Victoria Custer becomes a world traveler and a very strong woman. She becomes a travel writer. In this novel she travels to Mexico and has modern day adventures.

The strength of character of the heroine makes her a great example for the female youth of today. Edgar Rice Burroughs gave many of his female characters strength of character, body and conviction - but he rarely developed any of them long term. Even Victoria had to share "The Eternal Lover" with Nu, son of Nu. Remember, you don't have to be brave, you just have to do what needs to be done.

Victoria Custer is too strong a character to have been consigned to life on a Nebraska farm after her adventures in the African Jungle. Jerry Gill has made sure that she continues her travels and her search for Nu. She also gets to meet some special people - Ann Darrow from King Kong in this story.

A great read. Buy this book.


5.0 out of 5 stars Time Doesn't Matter, February 21, 2015

By tglasier - See all my reviews

This review is from: VIC: Time Doesn't Matter (Kindle Edition)

Time Doesn't Matter captivated me from the very first sentence. The imagery that the book paints of prehistoric time is so vivid and detailed. The book starts off "Robust, chiseled muscles rolled smoothly beneath the bronzed skin of the caveman as he moved silently through the primeval jungle." I was hooked from that very first sentence.
This book is really about the two lives of the same person during very different times. Victoria Custer is a twenty five year old woman in the year 1919, when she was thirteen she began to have flashbacks/ dreams of a cave woman Nat-ul and her love Nu, son of Nu. She eventually realizes that these are not just random dreams but flashbacks of her previous life more than 100 000 years ago.
Victoria is a great heroine. She is tough, and adventurous, and always keeps her head in tough situations, which is great because she gets into A LOT of scrapes. Her behavior goes against the usual nature of women in that era, and you have to wonder if that isn't because she is channeling Nat-ul during some of her incidences.
Victoria eventually realizes that her dream of this other life are not dreams at all, that she is actually remembering another life and the deep love she had for Nu, son of Nu. It is then that she decides to take charge and try to find him- after all, if she remembers then maybe he does too? Victoria is drawn to the jungle, like her prehistoric self was- so she decides to travel around the world as a travel writer in hope of finding him.
This was an amazing read, I was blown away with the amount of detail that the author put into both stories. It would have been easy to make the memories of Victoria as Nat-ul brief and one dimensional, but the author went above and beyond and skillfully brought to life not one, but two entirely different worlds. The premise of reincarnation, and scouring the globe to reunite with the one true love of your life is a gold mine. I will definitely be picking up the next book to see what is next for Victoria

5.0 out of 5 stars A written equivalent of a Spielberg film, February 11, 2015

By

Lex hooi - See all my reviews

This review is from: VIC: Time Doesn't Matter (Kindle Edition)

A written equivalent of a Spielberg film. Think Tomb Raider meets Jurassic Park. "Time doesn't matter" is an action packed, vividly described novel that switches between prehistoric and modern times. I was never a fan of monosyllabic or weirdly named characters (especially of the sci-fi genre!) until I read this book. As I read I found myself thinking, "Yeah, this is how prehistoric life would be". There are dinosaurs, big hairy apes, hunting in Africa... I couldn't put the book down because I wanted to find out if Nat-ul was Victoria and was curious how the author will manage to converge both storylines.

If this book wasn't recommended by GoodReads, I wouldn't have picked it up, due to its classical cover. Get this if you are a fan of strong female leads and adventure books.


5 stars Fantastic read for fast-paced adventure lovers

ByTamara Roja on April 7, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

Jerry Gill has done a masterful job of spinning off of and continuing a couple of tales by the great Edgar Rice Burroughs in his book "Vic: Time Doesn't Matter."

The opening of the book pulled me right into the story alongside Nu and Na-tul. The two had loved each other since they were very young and Nu was out to kill the great sabre tooth tiger Oo to present it's head to Na-tul. During this time as the author writes, "Life was relatively uncomplicated yet stupendously savage."

At the point where Nu faces the tiger and ultimately wins, the writer casts the reader forward to the 1920s where Victoria, a character from ERB's earlier works and Gill fleshes her out so the reader falls in love with this "modern-day" woman if you will. A woman who is as comfortable in high heels and a dress as she is in dungarees toting a weapon.

And this is where Gill hits a home run or slays the tiger with Vic (Victoria) and the challenges that a woman faces in both love and life but is very capable of handling.

If you are a fan of Tarzan, Raiders of the Lost Ark, etc., this is a book you will want to read.

REVIEWS

5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action that will have you gripped!

By Rae Phillips on October 9, 2015

Format: Paperback

If you are looking for a fresh read then I will recommend the Vic Challenger series. I picked up book number four initially and enjoyed it so much I had to go back and read Time Doesn’t Matter which is the first in the series. I have enjoyed both books immensely, the series is very original and I would imagine them to have a cult following. In this first book of the series, as with book 4 I found an eclectic mix of characters, fast paced action and an exciting narrative style which leaves the reader unable to put the book down.

Jerry Gill is a proficient storyteller; she writes well and weaves an excellent yarn. The opening chapter is epic and almost cinematic with its vivid descriptions, a clever technique as the author immediately pulls the reader into her world and once she has your attention she doesn’t let go! Gill’s writing style is both epic and lush, as a reader you have to let go and allow yourself to become immersed when you are reading a book like this, it is pure escapism and is an absolute must for comic books fans.

The best thing about this series is undoubtedly Vic our time travelling heroine, she is feisty and strong with a razor sharp mind. I have said this in a previous review but would love to see a Vic Challenger Anime series; I think it would be amazing. To try and place this series in a genre is difficult it crosses so many from fantasy, suspense, historical fiction and comic books. Great read, recommended!

=============================

5.0 out of 5 stars Highly creative, exciting adventure

By Kitty Smith TOP 500 REVIEWER on October 1, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

If you've ever found yourself wondering if perhaps you've had past lives, then this book should totally captivate your interest. In 1919, twenty-five year old Victoria Custer is a tough, brave young woman who is most certainly not content to behave according to the standards of her day. For over a decade she's experienced these dreams of a life from thousands and thousands of years ago, and eventually she comes to understand that the dreams are actually memories from a past life. While in Africa she sets out on a grand adventure to find her modern day counterpart, the reincarnation of Nu, her mate from prehistoric times.

The brilliance in here is the crafting of the two different lives, that of Victoria and that of Nat-ul. Nat-ul's story comes in dreams but it feels completely realistic, developed to the point it's basically its own story. The more you come to know Nat-ul, the more you understand who Victoria is as well. The writing is skillful and the blending of history, romance, adventure, and perhaps a bit of the paranormal if you consider past lives as such is richly done. Overall an excellent, fast paced, and highly creative story
—––––-=======================

5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable historical adventure

By TFLReader TOP 500 REVIEWER on September 12, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I love historical fiction above all other genres as I find it so fascinating to read. I didn't discover this genre until just a few years ago and was delighted to find out that I could learn history while being entertained by wildly fun fictional stories at the same time. I was thrilled to find such a unique and fun read with author Jerry Gill's "VIC: Time Doesn't Matter".

This is story is beyond original in that Gill took a public domain work from author Edgar Rice Burroughs and re-wrote parts of it to create his story. Burroughs' original story, "Eternal Savage", introduces these main characters but did not continue as promised so Gill did the job for him many years later and it is outstanding. The story of Victoria, or Vic, who is living in the 1920's yet has the ability to flashback and remember places and events from long ago. While visiting an estate in Africa, she has one of these visions that sets her on a quest to find Nu's reincarnation. Taking her brother, Barnie, along for the ride, this is an awesome and pretty intense adventure with some very likable characters.

I thoroughly enjoyed this read from the opening pages on. It was a delight to re-visit some of Burroughs' work and then to see what Gill did with it, which was spectacular. Vic was very easy to like and the adventure itself had some great action alongside some good historical references. Definitely recommend this one.