REVIEWS

5.0 out of 5 stars
Victoria is a well -crafted heroine with a penchant for adventure and determination to find her love- definitely recommend

By Beverly Clark on October 5, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I came across this book while browsing Amazon and was intrigued by the storyline. I then read the author bio and knew this was a book that I wanted to read.

Even though this was book three in the series, I jumped into the storyline and will be going back to read the previous books

To give you some insight, our main character Victoria aka Vic has recalled her past, 100,000 years ago, when she was a cave dweller and was with her soulmate, Nu.

The storyline revolves around her quest to find once again, in this lifetime, her soulmate.

We are transported back to the roaring 20’s and follow Victoria on a rip roaring adventure to find Nu.

There is something to be said about stories written in the 1920s and our author manages to capture that unique writing style in this book and give it a generous peppering of modern writing, I think that combination may be what drew me in to this book so easily.

Author Jerry Gill delivers a series that is a definite home run. Victoria is a well -crafted heroine with a penchant for adventure and determination to find her love.

I definitely recommend this book.

=========================

Another Awesome Installment in the Vic Challener Series April 4, 2015

By tglasier

Format:Kindle Edition

I am in love with this series, reading these books is always a page turning adventure. Victoria Custer, aka Vic Challenger is a travel writer whose real purpose in traveling the globe is to try and find the reincarnated love of her life. Vic can remember in detail a life in which she was a cave woman named Nat-ul, and her eternal love for a cave man, Nu, son of Nu. Vic is sure that if she can remember their past life/ love then it only makes sense that Nu might as well.
This book has so much to offer... an eternal love story that even death cannot undo, loads of adventure, a strong female heroine, exotic travel to foreign locale- that has obviously been greatly researched by the author, and did I already mention the adventure?
I love Vic, she is a take charge kind of gal who always seems to find herself stumbling into trouble, though she can always handle herself, especially when she channels her past self Nat-ul.
It is hard to pick which book in this series has been my favorite as they have all been equally awesome so far. I have followed Vic to Africa, Mexico, Mongolia, and now in this latest book Scotland.
There is a brief stop at the Grand Canyon where Vic and Lin Li parachute out of aeroplane's and look around trying to find an ancient cave with hieroglyphs, as usual trouble finds them and they are mistaken for slavers and taken prisoner, only to ironically be captured by slavers...
The scrapes and brushes with danger only continue when they finally make it to Scotland, this book is never dull with its non stop action.
Vic is now on the trail of a man she thinks could be her lost love, I have already taken a peek and saw that the next book is already available for purchase, and I can barely wait to see if FINALLY Vic will be reunited with her true love. Awesome series.


Vic: Never Give Up
by
Jerry Gill (Goodreads Author)

Kimberly Smith's review

Mar 08, 15     5 of 5 stars

Call me biased if you want to, but this third installment in Jerry Gill’s The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger series is the best one. I had a crush on the first one, had a fling with the second one, and fell in love with this one. By the time I get to book four, they will be scraping me off of the floor. The title, Never Give Up says it all. Readers are once again thrust into the world of Victoria Custer in the 1920s. Her high school buddy, Lin Li is back and braving more adventures across the globe with the travel writer from Nebraska.

The fierce heroines make simple travel plans that turn into anything but. Vic, who is the reincarnation of 100,000-year-old warrior Nat-ul, is always searching for her eternal love, Nu. She learns that he could be in London reincarnated as Stu. The friends fight for their lives to eliminate obstacles as they tackle one quest at a time. Slavers, killers, and kidnapped children are just a few of the people they encounter. Secrets, mysteries, and death abound as Lin faces devastation and Vic battles villains with hammers and axes.

Gill brings Europe, the Grand Canyon, the Loch Ness Monster, and New York together in another terrific tale. High energy, colorful escapades, fantasy, and content that transcends time are what are in store for you with Never Give Up.


Phillip on Goodreads rated it 4 of 5 stars


I like it. Vic and Lin begin with a trip to the Grand Canyon, which makes me well disposed toward the book. They find a mysterious presence and a Black Ops unit in place to protect the American people from the menace. The author leaves unfinished business that I look forward to returning to in future books.

The heroines go to Europe where they encounter a different take on the Lochness monster. The story takes a turn toward the dark. But, the author pulls it off with a nice balance by ending with the picture of a daughter grateful for the good influence and positive instruction from her mother.

I think highly of these books and do actively recommend them to young people interested in adventure stories with positive massages in them.



5.0 out of 5 stars From the Grand Canyon to Loch Ness -February 19, 2015

By

Pilot Robert (Albuquerque, NM, US) - See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Vic: Never Give Up (Kindle Edition)

Wow! Loch Ness, Scottish cannibals, the Grand Canyon, kidnapped children and a race across the United States. Fast paced adventure from start to finish. Victoria Custer, aka Vic Challenger, aka Edgar Rice Burroughs, Nat -Ul, the heroine of "The Eternal Lover" returns to take matters into her own hands. Fly with her in airplanes, parachute into the old west, and visit a Scotland you never imagined.

Vic Challenger personifies every sword or ax wielding heroine ever drawn by any heroic fantasy artist. Her character and her behavior are beyond reproach, she fights for herself and for those who need her help. She doesn't need anyone to fight for her. She never gives up, she never quits and she will do whatever needs to be done.

Buy this book, buckle up and get ready for the ride. to quote Betty Davis, "Fasten your seatbelts, it's going to be a bumpy night".. I couldn't put this book down. I read it in one sitting. From Beatrice, Nebraska to the Grand Canyon to the shores of Loch Ness - you will be glad you took the trip.



4 Stars   Amazon
one you will enjoy, and one that will keep your attention from ...

By Shirley Priscilla JohnsonTOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
September 3, 2014

Format: Paperback

The stars of our story, Vic and Lin Li are going on a trip to England, but first they want to do some camping at the Grand Canyon. That should be relaxing, but not this time. They have a ship to be on at a certain time, but will they ever make it? They are taken prisoner because they are mistaken for some people and accused of doing something they did not. After all, surely everyone should know they would never harm children. Finally they are cleared of these charges, but now they are thrown into a much more dangerous situation as they become prisoner to slavers. What a ride.
This is an adventurist read taking you from one adventure to another as the two friends battle for their lives and innocent people as well. Will they make the ship that is to take them to their destination? And what adventure waits there? An interesting read, one you will enjoy, and one that will keep your attention from adventure to adventure.



5.0 out of 5 stars  Amazon
Excellent Read with Great Characters and Lots of Adventure By Beth on September 2, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I just love visiting with Vic and when I discovered there was a new book in the series I simply had to have it.

I love that everyone is introduced beautifully and their backstories are presented quickly but thoroughly so if you've missed the first book (or two) or if you've forgotten anything since reading the last book then you're all caught up and ready to go.

There is so much packed into this novel that it's just nonstop action. From the U.S. to Scotland it's just one crazy and wonderful adventure after another for Vic and I genuinely enjoyed every moment. This kept me up well past my bedtime several nights, flipping the pages as fast as I could read them!

The book, and series, are incredibly well written, with genuinely likable characters, plenty of action and adventure, and an overarching story that ties it all together beautifully.

I highly, highly recommend this excellent book. It's a wonderful addition to the series and I can't wait to read the next one!



5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon
A Excellent Adventure Novel
August 25, 2014

By Paris Carter    Blog

Format:Kindle Edition

Even though I haven't read through any of the previous two novels in the series, I decided to jump right on in into Jerry Gill's latest action novel, Vic: Never Give Up. Even though I haven't read through any of the first two books, I didn't feel too lost when it came to the plot and I was still able to get to close to the characters, growing my own feelings towards them. Jerry, makes sure that his novel is easy for anyone who's new to jump right on in and start reading without having to read through the back catalogue.

Never Give Up, focuses on the adventures of Vic and Lin as they get ready to go camping but before they are allowed to leave they get taken prisoner by a Dine, who thinks they're murders. By the end of the novel they're on the chase to rescue two children from a deadly Slaver! The plot is truly something you haven't heard before and for all of those who think that this novel is their cup of tea, you would be surprised how open this novel is. The novel is a blend of action and adventure at it's finest as well as providing a plot that's both energetic and a fun journey.

In conclusion, I would recommend this novel to anyone who's looking for a good adventure novel as you're going to fall in love with Never Give Up, and if you like this novel and you're looking for something else to read while you wait for the fourth novel to come out, you can read through the series first two novels--which I heard are just as good.


—––––––––––––––


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon
In love with the series
August 24, 2014

By Becca Quinlan

Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

The premises of Gill’s novels are always a mouthful, and that’s how I like it. There are no other stories our there like the Vic Challenger books. They follow a travel writer from the 20th century who carries the memories and emotions of a 100,000-year-old cave woman whose mate had tragically died. The story is about Vic’s latest adventures in search for her mate’s reincarnation. What follows is a fast read filled with travel, action, and adventure that does not quit for 176 pages. I am absolutely in love with this series and can’t wait to hear what the 4th one is about.

—––––––––––––––


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon
Newest addition to this incredible series will not disappoint. August 10, 2014

By A Goddess of Literature

Format:Kindle Edition

Vic Challenger returns for another adventure in her quest to find Nu, the son of Nu. This time Vic and her friend Lin are headed to Scotland and London in search of an artist that Vic believes to be the reincarnation of Nu. Expecting a nice, quiet, fun vacation; the pair of adventurers stumble upon slave traders, strange beasts, and much more danger than they had anticipated. But never fear, for these super women are more than up to the challenge.

With well formed storylines, author Jerry Gill weaves an incredible tale full of interesting characters, plot twists, historical tidbits, and nonstop action. I find that I can't help but root for Vic as she searches for her long lost love of so many lives past. Unlike many authors of today, Gill manages to hold a reader's attention throughout the series without reverting to the ever present cliff hanger. I definitely recommend this series to any reader and cannot wait to find out what happens next.

—––––––––––––––

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon
This is very much worth reading August 7, 2014

By Paul Lappen VINE VOICE
Blog:  deadtreesreview
Format:Paperback

This is the third in a series of novels about your average female resident of the early 20th century who isn't really so average.

Victoria Custer's "day job" is as a travel and adventure writer for her local, Nebraska, newspaper. Using the pen name Vic Challenger, she travels to places that even experienced, male adventurers would hesitate to visit. Vic has a very good reason; she has inside of her an avatar of a 100,000-year-old cavewoman named Nat-ul. She came from an era where violent death could come at any moment. If Nat-ul has survived all these centuries, then Nu, her lover, must also be alive. That search is the real reason for Vic's adventures.

Vic and her friend, Lin Li, are booked on a very fancy ship for a trip to England in a couple of weeks, so they make a quick trip to the Grand Canyon for some camping. They will take some photos, write some articles; it will be fun, right? They are taken prisoner by some Native American warriors who accuse them of being human slavers targeting Native American children, they are later taken prisoner by actual human slavers, and they come across a bottomless cavern full of what looks like ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics. They manage to reach their ship for England with minutes to spare.

Once in Britain, they head for Scotland, intending to camp in the ruins of a Scottish castle on the shore of Loch Ness (home of the famous Monster). The local inhabitants are tormented by the mysterious disappearances of animals, and people. Some say that the Loch is inhabited by a number of "beasties." Other tales are about a family of human cannibals. Vic and Lin learn, to their horror, that both stories are true. Amid all this Vic just misses meeting an artist named Stu James, who she is sure is the reincarnation of Nu, her lover.

I totally enjoyed this book (and this series). It's got a strong female main character, it's got plenty of action and brushes with death, and it would make a really good movie. This is very much worth reading.

—––––––––––––––
From Amazon
5.0 out of 5 stars
This is definitively a 5 star book that should be a 20 star book for me! August 6, 2014

By Sandra Hould

Format:Kindle Edition

If I could give twenty stars to this book, I would. Of all the Vic stories, this one is by far the best! The action was endless, and it was really awesome to read and live in my head. Each page was a page turner and each chapter made me want to know more. Jerry Gill has created a fantastic story, from a very unique character that Edgar Rice Burroughs had created in 1914. He has given her such depth and fullness that she has become my most favourite action female character of all times, and I am usually picky about my female heroes. Jerry Gill has created a complete character that deserves her own series and he has done just that. I can't wait to read the next book of the series as it is now my most favourite one ever! Great job Jerry, you have all my support and cheers.


http://www.amazon.com/review/RQNTSOKJE7CRB/ref=cm_cr_dp_title?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00MC3RTBG&nodeID=133140011&store=digital-text