Jan 10, 2015 Phillip rated it 5 of 5 stars

Shelves: juvenile
Phillip's review Goodreads here
I just finished reading
Mongol, the second novel in Vic: Double Trouble paperback.

The second book is at least as good as the first in the Vic Challenger series. The heroine is a travel writer during the 1920s who gets into one death defying adventure after another throughout her travels and is able to defend herself using a variety of weapons including firearms, knives, martial arts, and her own primitive weapons chipped from stone.

In this story her travel companion is Lin Li, who she has known since high school. The pair travel to Asia from Nebraska by-way-of Hawaii. They solve a murder along the way, once in Asia they must defend themselves against monstrous creatures, beings from a different plane of existence, and the army of a local war lord.

As with the first book in the series, it is a very good homage to the work of Edgar Rice Burroughs. Yet, is more of a modern reboot of that work for contemporary readers by portraying strong, self-actuating women who can take care of themselves, for young readers.

An interesting and positive difference between the books in this series and the work of Edgar Rice Burroughs is the focus upon Vic Challenger's role as friend, daughter, sister, and contributing member of society (member of a social web) as opposed to the heroes of Edgar Rice Burroughs who mostly acted alone or with a loyal familiar, (always remarkable but still inferior to the hero) typically seeking to retrieve a kidnapped love interest or some personal goal for servival. In the Vic Challenger stories, as remarkable as she is, her companions are shown to be her equal and to sometimes have skills she does not have. She works with many alleys for social good rather than just her own benefit. And she is shown to participate in church, social and family functions when at home in Nebraska. These are not activities enacted or valued by the heroes in Burroughs' books.

I have recommended the Vic Challenger books to my wife and to all of my children but have especially recommended them to each of my three daughters, ranging in ages from 16 through 28.


Phillip's review Goodreads  here

Dec 31, 14

5 of 5 stars bookshelves: favorites, popular-culture, positive-psychology

Read on December 23, 2014

Author Jerry Gill delivers with his novel Vic: Time Doesn't Matter. Actually, I am reading the Double Trouble edition but am so happy with #1 that I am going ahead and writing a review.

Vic: Time Doesn't Matter would sit comfortably on the shelf with Eternal Savage and the Red Sonja comic books. It would also sit on the shelf with just about anything else written by Edgar Rice Burroughs, especially--(the title mentioned above), The Cave Girl, and Tarzan and the Castaways-all books with strong action heroines in jungle adventures.

The book begins 100,000 years ago and shows the cave-man Nu son of Nu on the hunt of the big cat. The language of the narrative provides a good homage to the language of the prehistoric scenes found throughout the work of Edgar Rice Burroughs. In fact, the novel picks up where
Eternal Savage leaves off (A book requiring a part-two that Burroughs never wrote.)

Then, in
Vic: Time Doesn't Matter Vic, the heroine is introduced on the estate of Tarzan, Lord Greystoke during the nineteen-twenties. The Greystoke estate is only the backdrop where the heroine is introduced. The novel that follows is a series of E.R.B-eseque adventures that definitely belong to Vic Challenger, not Tarzan. She is an engaging character, able to take care of herself as she travels the world in pursuit of her own objective that is tied to the prehistoric past.

This professional quality book is exciting, provides juvenile women readers with a positive role model, and is more of a reboot of the books of Edgar Rice Burroughs, for the current teen generation, than just an homage. Yet, it is an homage that a life-long Burroughs enthusiast (me) would recommend to other aficionados of any age. I will be reading #2 and #3.



skysnap | Nov 10, 2014 |

https://www.librarything.com/work/15477333/reviews/113926693
The two part novel makes the reading fun and connected. The premise gets you after few pages and puts the imagery into the mind. The plot is more of fantasy adventure with bits of mystery and thrill. The characters are interesting around Victoria. As the story goes ahead, you'll find Victoria even more intriguing. I'd recommend if you are into fantasy adventure plots. ( )


Charles rated a book 4 of 5 stars

Vic: Double Trouble by Jerry Gill (Goodreads Author)

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/475283.Charles_Allen_Gramlich


This work collects two books by the same author featuring the character of Victoria Custer. The first is called Time Doesn’t Matter, and the second is Mongol. There are many very good things about these books, and some other things that I didn’t think worked quite so well. In my opinion, Time Doesn’t Matter is quite a bit better than Mongol and would get four stars from me if it were rated separately. The main character, Victoria Custer, is an adventurer and writer in the Twentieth century. She is generally known as “Vic,” and writes under the penname of Vic Challenger. Vic is a contemporary of Tarzan of the Apes, but she is also the reincarnation of Nat-ul, a cave woman who lived a dangerous life in the distant past. Nat-ul and her caveman mate, Nu, were killed on the same day by an earthquake. The modern Vic mentally relives Nat-ul’s experiences and realizes that Nu must have been reincarnated as well. An overall theme of these works is her attempt to locate the modern “Nu.”

Book 1: Time Doesn’t Matter, takes the reader back and forth between the ancient world and the modern, and it is a page turning adventure, very much in the mold of Edgar Rice Burroughs in his Tarzan and Pellucidar series. Like ERB, the author of the book has a great sense of “narrative drive,” which keeps the story constantly moving. The author also creates good characters who the reader comes quickly to like and root for.

Book 2: Mongol, takes Vic on a trip to Mongolia accompanied by a few friends. They run into monsters, bandits, buried cities, treasure, and strange beings galore. I would give this one three stars.

Here are a couple of things that I thought could have made these books even stronger. First, neither book is divided into chapters. There are sections, with titles, which I guess is about the same thing, but I read this in ebook format and it was difficult to tell the sections apart since they did not necessarily start on new pages and the titles didn’t always stand out from the background. Simply labelling these as chapter 1: title, chapter 2: title, etc, would have really improved the reading experience, at least in my opinion.

My remaining criticism relates only to book 2, Mongol. Although interesting I thought the book suffered a bit because there wasn’t a specific goal that the characters were working toward. It consisted more of a string of events that were only peripherally related to each other. The events themselves were interesting but did not specifically advance a ‘plot’ for the book. In addition, while the author took care to get the historical details right and seems to have done a very good job of this, I sometimes felt there was just too much historical detail that slowed down the adventure. The historical details on things like clothing, food, etc., could probably have been cut back a bit in the interests of keeping the story moving forward.

All in all, this was a good duology, with the first book being quite outstanding. Definitely a writer to keep an eye on.



5.0 out of 5 stars Two thumbs up!, November 16, 2014   By

Stefanie (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Vic: Double Trouble (The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger) (Kindle Edition)

I thoroughly enjoyed the contrast in setting for both books in the double novel. Author Jerry Gill does an impressive job of portraying the visuals around Nat-ul/Victoria through his descriptive writing. Interestingly, Nat-ul's philosophy of staying present in the moment and focusing on doing your best in what you can control, is something that I personally try to incorporate into my own life.

The tragedy of Nat-ul and Nu's relationship made me root for Nat-ul, now Victoria, to find success in her second time around. Her journey of self-discovery and the search for her long-lost soul mate kept me engaged throughout the entirety of the story! I don't want to ruin the plot, but I would encourage anyone to check this book out if you want to see the truly unique writing talent that Jerry possesses!



5.0 out of 5 stars Ultra cool double read, November 13, 2014 By

Beverly Clark - See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Vic: Double Trouble (The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger) (Kindle Edition)

This book (actually it is two books in one) was recommended by a friend. What a cool series and now I am hooked!
Well written double read that kept me reading. If you are looking for an off the beaten path read - check this one out. I think you'll like it as much as I did.
PS - also check out the website for the books :)



5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and wonderful story, November 13, 2014    By

Rosemary Goddard - See all my reviews

This review is from: Vic: Double Trouble (The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger) (Kindle Edition)

Jerry Gill has done a fantastic job creating a love story that spans through many centuries of time. A unique premise that I will remember for a very long time. Both books are well written and the descriptive characterizations are so well done that you feel you are in the story right alongside of the characters. An action packed easy read, the time invested in two books will not be time wasted.



5.0 out of 5 stars A Double Punch of Awesome!, November 13, 2014 By

Kevin Lintner "You can lead a horse to water ... - See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Vic: Double Trouble (The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger) (Kindle Edition)

Both books contained in this omnibus are filled with vivid characterizations, dialog that pops, and action that never disappoints. When you mix in a love story that spans 100 millenia, you get a storyline for that will appeal to all readers. I had a lot of fun reading this and I am sure that you will too.



5.0 out of 5 stars 2 stories that will blow you away !, November 10, 2014 By

jessica fernandez - See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Vic: Double Trouble (The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger) (Kindle Edition)

2 great stories in one book ! What an amazing thrill ride this author just took me on ! I really loved these stories. They were full of mystery, adventure, love, and edge of your seat suspense ! I think I have a new favorite to add to my reading list ! You must read this book !



5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, November 2, 2014 By

Pricilla Benton - See all my reviews

This review is from: Vic: Double Trouble (The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger) (Kindle Edition)

What an interesting premise for a story. It takes a lot to tell a love story that is one hundred thousand years old. Jerry Gill pulls it off in Vic: Double Trouble. We meet Nat-ul from the days of the caveman and we meet the 20th century version of the woman Victoria Custer. Each are challenged by trials of their time period on their quest to reunite with their true love.

This was a fascinating read and a book that was well worth my time. I tried to decide which time period I liked better but I couldn't. The author did a great job writing the story in both even though they were very different. I'd recommend this book if you're ready for a really unique adventure story.



5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic adventure!! - 5 stars!, October 31, 2014 By

Fan - See all my reviews

This review is from: Vic: Double Trouble (The Incredible Adventures of Vic Challenger) (Kindle Edition)

What a fantastic adventure!! I'm still playing back the imagery this author magically creates with their words and enjoyed the journeys I was taken on. Very talented writer who understands story-telling, word craft, pure creativity, and surprise. If you love adventure, mystery, fantasy, a bit of danger, and like to get lost in a book... this is it! 5 stars!!


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/18720733-sarah";

Review for "Time Doesn't Matter"
This first novel in Gill's Double Trouble collection is an exciting thrill from the first page to the last! The love between Nat-ul and Nu provides an interesting and downright inspirational plot line, and the well described scenery kept me genuinely engaged. Gill's way with words had me feeling like I was right there in the midst of the story. I'd definitely recommend this one to anyone who enjoys books about past lives with lots of adventure!

Review for "Mongol"
This second novel in the Double Trouble collection is just as wonderful as the first! As Vic becomes more familiar with her past lives I became more addicted to her search for Nu. And once again, Gill's descriptiveness and lush use of setting is masterful. I definitely hope he writes more soon because I love these characters!

Overall, Jerry Gill's Vic: Double Trouble Collection are a couple of great novels that I won't be forgetting anytime soon!